This announcement was released by the Greater Niagara Chamber of Commerce, Oct. 30th, 2023

Over 200 women were nominated for the record-setting 2023 Women in Business Awards. We would like to congratulate all our nominees and thank everyone who nominated an outstanding woman in business.

Without further ado, we are pleased to announce this year's finalists:

Business that Gives Back Award

  • TD
  • Dwyer-Hamilton Paralegal Services
  • Corks and Bubbles Inc.

Community Impact Award

  • Angela Casucci, Meridian Credit Union
  • Beth Fleeton, CAA Niagara
  • Caterina Ficano, Royal LePage
  • Juliet Dunn, TD Niagara Jazz Festival
  • Lise Andreana, Niagara Pumphouse Arts Centre
  • Melissa Debeau, Skycomp Solutions Inc.
  • Pam Lilley, MNP
  • Rochelle Ivri, Immigration Refugees and Citizenship Canada

Corporate Leadership Award

  • Amanda Buonocore-Kish, Walker Industries
  • Caitlin Armstrong, Meridian Credit Union
  • Carolyn Ryan, YourTV Niagara
  • Cassandra Ogunniyi, Niagara Region
  • Chandra Sharma, Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority
  • Deidre Miller, Niagara Falls Convention Centre
  • Fiona Peacefull, Niagara Health
  • Marnie Cluckie, Corporation of the Town of Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Pam Lilley, MNP
  • Serina Carbone, DeSantis Homes
  • Tracy Feor, General Motors Canada

Cultural Arts Award

  • Gina Schafrick, These Architects Inc.
  • Jean Bridge, Rodman Art Institute of Niagara
  • Sarah Kaufman, Niagara-on-the-Lake Museum (Niagara Historical Society)
  • Sonia Aimy, African Women Acting AWA
Emerging Business Award
  • Angela Browne, INVICTUS LEGAL LLP
  • Carrie Elefante, Nibbleez Boards Platters Catering & More
  • Devon Elcomb, Pressed In Time
  • Emily Barrett, Mosaic Psychotherapy Collective
  • Gabrielle Smith, Fix My Books Inc.
  • Michelle Gadula, Starnotch Costume and Garment Design
  • Stacey Stemplowski, Grounding Balance Wellness & Psychotherapy

Entrepreneurship Award

  • Britt Dixon, Britt Dixon Creative
  • Debi Katsmar, PRowl Communications
  • Dr. Daniela DiPaola, Impact Health
  • Dunya Alhaddad, Oemchem
  • Jessie MacDonald, MAC Inc
  • Kelly Frechette, Board Boss Drywall
  • Lesley Calvin, Positive Forward Motion
  • Lori McDonald, Provisions Food Company
  • Stephanie Lakeit-Hall, SH Consulting Group

Equity Entrepreneur Award

  • Gabrielle Smith, Fix My Books Inc.
  • Neska Morrison, Annissi Beauty Salon
  • Sharon Corcoran, Corks and Bubbles Inc.

Excellence in Hospitality and Tourism Award

  • Alana Hurov, 124 on Queen Hotel and Spa
  • Allysha Howse, Tipsy Theory
  • Alyssa Waldes, White Oaks Resort and Spa
  • Eileen Tinio-Hind, NF4U Hospitality Services
  • Makayla Van-Helsdingen, Calamus Estate Winery
  • Melissa Sauer, Niagara Parks Commission
  • Minerva Ward, Niagara-on-the-Lake Chamber of Commerce & Tourism Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • Whitney Rorison, Dillon's Small Batch Distillers

Excellence in the Not-for-Profit Sector Award

  • Alicia Merry, Hospice Niagara
  • Andrea Scott, Niagara Health Foundation
  • Christine Clark Lafleur, Port Cares
  • Deanna D'Elia, YMCA of Niagara
  • Lorrey Arial-Bonilla, Early Childhood Community Development
  • Nicole Regehr, Gillian's Place
  • Shauna MacLeod, Willow Arts Community
  • Tracy Geoffroy, Hotel Dieu Shaver

Excellence in Trades Award

  • Kaitlyn Simpson, Safe Tree Ltd.
  • Katie Clarkson, R2G Construction Inc
  • Shelley Parker, Alectra Utilities

Health Care Hero Award

  • Jennifer Hansen, Hotel Dieu Shaver Health & Rehabilitation Centre
  • Julie Christiansen, Julie Christiansen Counselling & Psychotherapy (Spa for the Soul)
  • Karen Lutz, Niagara Emergency Medical Services (EMS)

Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) Award

  • Bobbie Thoman, NOCO Energy Corp. and Stratium
  • Darby McGrath, Vineland Research and Innovation Centre
  • Hillary Kumm, General Motors
  • Mariana Garrido de Castro, Kytos

Young Professional Award

  • Alyssa Stuppiello, DDL & Co.
  • Alyssa Waldes, White Oaks Resort and Spa
  • Brandy Fulton, Abatement Technologies Limited and Ravine Vineyard Estates Winery
  • Brianna Aymar, Goldie's Museum
  • Brianne Bradley, Beattie Stationery Limited
  • Emily Barrett, Mosaic Psychotherapy Collective
  • Emily De Sousa, Seaside with Emily
  • Erin Hagar, SunOpta Inc.
  • Jessie MacDonald, MAC Inc.
  • Jordan Saksena, The Kesh Group - Royal LePage NRC Realty
  • Kaitlin Vandenbosch, Bench Brewing Company
  • Krystal Riddell, Essentials Cremation and Burial Services Inc.
  • Marissa Stones, YMCA of Niagara
  • Nicki Lumsden, The Niagara Sold by Kate Team at Remax Niagara

Meet the 2023 WIBA Bestowed Award Recipients


Valerie Pringle
2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Valerie Pringle is a highly respected Canadian television personality known for her outstanding contributions to the field of broadcasting. As the co-host of the iconic showCanada AM, her warmth and professionalism were a good morning welcome for audiences for over a decade. Her contributions to the show helped solidify its status as a beloved morning staple for countless Canadians. Some of her other hosting credits include the travel show Valerie Pringle Has Left the Building, Antiques Roadshow and Canada Files

Valerie Pringle's career is marked by her dedication to community involvement. She has served as spokesperson for the Canadian Foundation for AIDS Research for over two decades and has been involved in numerous charitable organizations, demonstrating a strong commitment to making a positive impact on society. She is also a member of the foundation boards for The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health and the Board of Niagara Project. Her philanthropy has earned her numerous accolades and awards, and in 2006 she was made a member of the Order of Canada. 

Valerie remains an enduring figure in the Canadian media landscape, recognized for her significant contributions to journalism and her unwavering commitment to improving her community.

The Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates the extraordinary success of a Niagara woman in her business and community over the course of her career.

Deborah Rosati
2023 Ruth Unrau Legacy Award Recipient

Deborah Rosati, an award-winning corporate director and entrepreneur, has been defined in three interconnected ways throughout her 35-year career – as a corporate governance champion, catalyst for change and community builder.

As the founder and CEO of Women Get On Board Inc. (WGOB), an 850-member social-purpose company, Deborah is building a community of the next generation of women corporate directors, advancing equity, diversity & inclusion (EDI), collaboration, courage, and confidence in the boardroom.

Deborah’s passion for good governance and board diversity is rooted in her board journey when she was often the only woman in the boardroom. These first-hand experiences cemented Deborah’s conviction that having more women on boards makes better business sense.

The Ruth Unrau Legacy Award was created in the name of Women in Niagara co-founder Ruth Unrau, to be conferred upon a woman who shares Ruth’s spirit and dedication to advocacy for women in business, and who has lifted up female entrepreneurs through her work and support. The award recipient will have championed women in trade and commerce, and empowered others to achieve success. 

Join us on November 16 as we recognize and celebrate all women in business in Niagara.

Since 2000, the Women in Business Awards have been honouring enterprising women whose businesses and community contributions have made a significant difference in the region, and in the lives of Niagara residents. The awards are a symbol of achievement for those women who are an inspiration for others, exemplifying excellence, commitment and vision.

November 16 11:00am–2:30pm
Marriott on the Falls , 6755 Fallsview Blvd Niagara Falls

Get Tickets Now




Back To Top